McKayson’s New Zealand Women’s Open Golf Championship 2017


The New Zealand’s Womens Open is New Zealand’s richest golf tournament with NZ$1.85 million in prizemoney. It will be staged at the new Windross Farm golf course in Auckland from 28 September to 1 October this year. The New Zealand Women’s Open is part of the global LPGA Tour which comprises 35 events in 15 countries, with the New Zealand event to be broadcast to more than 150 countries.

Eight Major winners, including three from the winning 2017 USA Solheim Cup team, have completed final confirmation for the MCKAYSON New Zealand Women’s Open taking place in just over three weeks.

The trio of Paula Creamer, Brittany Lincicome and Danielle Kang were part of the winning American Solheim Cup team. The other Major winners include Canada’s Brooke Henderson, Korea’s Na Yeon Choi, Taiwan’s Yani Tseng, Scotand’s Catriona Matthew and tournament host Lydia Ko.

Tseng and Ko have been so dominant that between them they were the world number one for more than four years. Tseng was the youngest player either male or female, at 22 years, to win five majors – the US Women’s PGA Championship twice, the Women’s British Open twice and the ANA Inspiration. Lincicome, 31, is a two-time Major winner and likely to be one of the most popular players at the tournament, on the back of her big hitting game, which has earned her the nickname of BamBam. Choi is another player with a remarkable record in the game, with nine LPGA wins including the US Women’s Open in 2012. The 29 year old has won over NZ$15 million in earnings, with her first professional tournament victory in Korea at just 17 following an incredible amateur career. Henderson, 19, already has four professional wins to her credit including her breakthrough victory when she beat Ko in a playoff to claim her first Major, the 2016 Women’s PGA Championship. Matthew has 11 tournament wins to her credit including the British Open in 2010 and four wins on the LPGA, amassing more than NZ$13 million in her career. Creamer is a 12-time winner who has amassed more than $NZ 16 million in prize money including a win in her first year to become the youngest winner of a multiple-round tournament. She claimed her Major at the US Women’s Open in 2010 with her last win coming at the HSBC Women’s Champions in 2014. Kang, 24, won her first Major with victory in the KPMG PGA Championship this year, pushing her one spot outside the top-10 in the Rolex World Rankings for the two-time US Amateur champion. And then there’s the 20-year-old Ko, who was world number one for a remarkable 104 weeks and in her very short but meteoric rise in the sport, has already won 14 times including two Majors along with 60 top-10 LPGA finishes.

“To have golfers who have won so many Major Championships between them is a testament to the quality of the field coming to New Zealand,” said tournament director Michael Goldstein. “To this you have a number of outstanding players who have won many times on either on the LPGA or the LET Tours. We have a large number of proven champions in the women’s game competing in Auckland, and it will be a privilege for New Zealand fans to watch players of this calibre in action. It is a level of golf that has never been seen in this country before.”

You can read more about the championship on their website: